Theater - A Library Guide

Table of Contents

 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books, identify a subject term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject (e g. acting). You may also search by keyword and then identify and ‘follow’ linked subject headings included in the catalog record. Here are some additional sample subject headings: One Act Plays, Playwriting, and Theaters--Stage-setting and Scenery

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the third floor of the Library: 792 Theater, 808 English Drama, 812 American Drama, and 822 Shakespeare.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

The following Reference Titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process:


R 791.092 C767
Contemporary theatre, film, and television
Gale Research Company.

R 792.02503 L932t 1989
Theatre backstage from A to Z
Lounsbury, Warren C.

R 792.03 H668d
The drama dictionary
Hodgson, Terry.

R 792.0321 Ox2 1983
The Oxford companion to the theatre / edited by Phyllis Hartnoll

R 792.09 R263
Regional theatre directory 2001-2002 / [compiled and edited by] Jill Charles.
Dorset Theatre Festival & Colony House.

R 792.0973 B644o
The Oxford companion to American theatre / Gerald Bordman.
Bordman, Gerald Martin.

R 792.0973 C144
Cambridge guide to American theatre / edited by Don B. Wilmeth and Tice L. Miller.
Wilmeth, Don B.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
Top of Page

                                  SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES


To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Academic Search Premier by EBSCO accesses over 4,600 full-text publications including 3,500 peer reviewed journals.

MLA Bibliography by FirstSearch provides more than 1,000,000 citations pertaining to
literature, language, linguistics and folklore. The FirstSearch interface identifies those articles that may be available in our library in print as full-text.

LexisNexis includes full-text access to newspapers from across the country and around the world. In these newspapers, researchers can locate reviews to various theater performances.

Ebsco A-Z is a listing of periodicals available either in print in the Morningside Library or through the databases to which Morningside College is subscriber.
___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

                                         From the World Wide Web



BUBL LINK/ Stage Presentations
http://link.bubl.ac.uk/theatre/

Selected links to sites chosen by librarians from the United Kingdom

The Internet Public Library - Theater
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/ent85.00.00/

Links to sites selected by the professional staff of the Internet Public Library.

The Internet Scout Project
http://scout.wisc.edu/

Search in the archives using the term, theater. Researchers will find links to sites chosen for their high quality.

American Variety Stage
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/vshtml/

This site is a digitized collection of materials from the American stage of 1870-1920. The collection is maintained by the Library of Congress.

A Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theater and Performance Studies
http://www.stetson.edu/csata/thr_guid.html

A Professor of Communication Studies and Theatre Arts from Stetson University assembled this site of links to everything having to do with the theater.

Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005