Shakespeare - A Library Guide

 

Table of Contents

 


__________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS


To search for books, consider using the following subject headings: Shakespeare William 1564-1616 Comedies, Shakespeare William 1564-1616 Tragedies, Shakespeare William 1564-1616, Shakespeare William 1564-1616 Comedies, Sonnets, Shakespeare William 1564-1616 Criticism and interpretation, or Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 Characters.

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the second floor of the stacks in the library: 822’s.

________________________________________________________________________________________________

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

The following reference titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process.

R 820.9 C144
The Cambridge history of English literature
Ward, Adolphus William, Sir, 1837-1924

R 822.33 G H155
A Shakespeare companion, 1564-1964
Halliday, F. E. (Frank Ernest)

R 822.33 G C153r
The reader's encyclopedia of Shakespeare, edited by Oscar James Campbell. Associate editor: Edward G. Quinn. Campbell, Oscar James

R 822.33 D Sh155
Shakespearean criticism: excerpts from the criticism of William Shakespeare's plays and poetry, from the first published appraisals to current evaluations / Laurie Lanzen Harris, editor, Mark W. Scott, associate editor. Harris, Laurie Lanzen.

Note: This resource is in excess of 70 volumes. The entire set may be browsed for specific material by selecting the most recent volume and using any one or more of these three indexes: Cumulative Character Index, Cumulative Topic Index and Cumulative Topic Index, by Play

Top of Page

R 940.2303 En19
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance (6 Volumes)
Grendler, Paul F.

R 940.2 B453e
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Bergin, Thomas Goddard, 1904
__________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES

To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Academic Search Premier by EBSCO accesses over 4,600 full-text publications including 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Consider starting with a specific play title as a SUBJECT. You might also combine Shakespeare, William or Shakespeare, William 1564-1616 as a SUBJECT with a related second search term in the ABSTRCT field. You may also browse the SUBDIVISIONS associated with Shakespeare in the Subjects index.

MLA Bibliography by FirstSearch, provides more than 1,000,000 citations pertaining to
literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Try these search strategies: Enter a play title such as Taming of the Shrew as a SUBJECT PHRASE either as single search term or combined with a second term. You might also try Shakespeare as a SUBJECT combined with an appropriate term such as Shrew as a KEYWORD. The FirstSearch interface identifies those articles that may be available in our library in print as full-text.

For performance reviews in Lexis-Nexis, follow these steps:

Select NEWS (Step One) … choose Arts and Sports News as a NEWS CATEGORY (Step Two) … scroll to Book, movie & play reviews as a NEWS SOURCE … enter “Taming of the Shrew” as SEARCH TERMS (Step Three) in Headline, Lead Paragraph(s) Terms … Select all available dates as a SPECIFIC DATE RANGE (Step Four).

Ebsco A-Z is a listing of periodicals available either in print in the Morningside Library or through the databases to which Morningside College is subscriber.

Top of Page
______________________________________________________________________________________

... and from the WORLD WIDE WEB

Shakespeare: A Magazine for Teachers and Enthusiasts
http://www.shakespearemag.com/

Early Modern Literary Studies
http://www.shu.ac.uk/emls/emlshome.html

Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
http://shakespeare.palomar.edu/

The Internet Public Library Online Literary Criticism Collection William Shakespeare (1564 - 1616)
http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/bin/litcrit.out.pl?au=sha-9

Literary Resources – Renaissance (from Rutgers University, Newark)
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/ren.html

Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005