Religious Studies - A Library Guide

 

Table of Contents

 

Reference books in the library

Encyclopedias Handbooks Dictionaries & Commentary
        Abstracts & Indexes

 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books identify a subject term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject (e g. Christianity 20th Century). You may also search by keyword and then identify and ‘follow’ linked subject headings included in the catalog record.

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the third floor of the Library: 200’s Religion, 210’s Natural Theology, 220’s Bible Criticism and Interpretation, 230’s Christian Theology, 240’s Christian Ethics and Morality, 250’s The Ministry and the Church, 260’s Practical Theology, 270’s Church History, 280’s Christian Denominations and Sects, 290’s Other and Comparative Religions

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

The following Reference Titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process.


                                          Encyclopedias Handbooks Dictionaries & Commentary

R 200.3 H234
The HarperCollins dictionary of religion
Smith, Jonathan Z.

R 200.8996073 M228
An encyclopedia of African American Christian heritage
McMickle, Marvin Andrew

R 200.973 Q31
The encyclopedia of American religious history
Queen, Edward L.

R 203 En19 1987
The Encyclopedia of religion (16 volumes)
Eliade, Mircea, 1907-

R 203 En19
Encyclopaedia of religion and ethics (13 volumes)
Hastings, James, 1852-1922

R 203.21 En19
Encyclopedic dictionary of religion (3 volumes)
Meagher, P. K. (Paul Kevin)

R 220.3 An21
The Anchor Bible dictionary (6 volumes)
Freedman, David Noel

Top of Page

R 220.7 In8
The New Interpreter's Bible : general articles & introduction, commentary, & reflections for each book of the Bible, including the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books (12 volumes)
Abingdon Press.

R 220.7 In8
The Interpreter's Bible : the Holy Scriptures in the King James and Revised standard versions with general articles and introduction, exegesis, exposition for each book of the Bible (12 volumes)
Buttrick, George Arthur

R 221.3 B659t.Ew
Theological dictionary of the Old Testament (6 volumes)
Botterweck, G. Johannes.

R 264.02003 N42
New Catholic encyclopedia (16 volumes)
Catholic University of America.

R 291.0973 En19
Encyclopedia of the American religious experience : studies of traditions and movements
Lippy, Charles H.

R 294.303 P911
The A to Z of Buddhism
Prebish, Charles S.

R 294.503 St98h
Harper's dictionary of Hinduism : its mythology, folklore, philosophy, literature, and history
Stutley, Margaret

R 296.03 En19
Encyclopaedia Judaica (16 volumes)
Roth, Cecil

R 297 M974
The Muslim almanac : a reference work on the history, faith, culture, and peoples of Islam
Nanji, Azim.

R 297.09 M449
Historical dictionary of Islamic fundamentalist movements in the Arab world, Iran, and Turkey
Maw·silil¯i, A·hmad.

R 299.703 G41
Dictionary of Native American mythology
Gill, Sam D.

Top of Page


Abstracts & Indexes

R 016.2 Am35i2
Religion index one : periodicals
American Theological Library Association

R 016.2 N42
New Testament abstracts
Weston School of Theology.

R 016.2 OL1
Old Testament abstracts
Catholic Biblical Association of America.

R 016.2 R279
Religious and theological abstracts
Religious and theological abstracts Inc
________________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Academic Search Premier by EBSCO accesses over 4,600 full-text publications including 3,500 peer reviewed journals..

Lexis-Nexis is a news, business, health, legal and reference database.

Ebsco A-Z is a listing of periodicals available either in print in the Morningside Library or through the databases to which Morningside College is subscriber.
________________________________________________________________________________________________

                                                   and ... from the World Wide Web

Top of Page


Webliographies (A selection of ‘refereed’ websites):

BUBL LINK/ 5:15 Religion
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/r/religion.htm

BUBL LINK/ 5:15 Religious Education
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/r/religiouseducation.htm

BUBL LINK/ 5:15 Religious Studies
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/r/religiousstudies.htm

The Internet Public Library Religion and Theology
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum80.00.00/

                                                     Biblical Resources Text and Commentary

The New Testament Gateway
http://ntgateway.com/

The Old Testament Gateway
http://otgateway.com/index.htm

Top of Page

        Christian Theology

Religion-online.org
http://www.religion-online.org/

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
http://www.ccel.org/

       Religious Studies - General

Belief.net
http://belief.net/

The Religions Movements Page

http://religiousmovements.lib.virginia.edu/profiles/listalpha.htm

                                                                             Other Religious Traditions

The Jewish History Resource
http://jewishhistory.huji.ac.il/

Al-Islam
http://al-islam.org/

The Internet Public Library – Faiths and Denominations
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum80.10.00/

Asia Links Society and History: Religion
http://www.asiasource.org/links/al_mp_03.cfm?TID=229

Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005