Psychology – A LIBRARY GUIDE

Table of Contents

 

Reference books in the library

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
General Reference
Biographies/Sourcebooks


____________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books, try these examples of subject headings by entering them in the search box of the online library catalog: experimental psychology, behavior modification, cognitive learning theory, behaviorism psychology and behavior modification psychology educational psychology, developmental psychology.

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the third floor of the library stacks: 150.724 (experimental psychology) 152-153’s.

Top of Page

______________________________________________________________________________________________

 

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

The following Reference Titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process.


Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Handbook of Psychology (12 vols.)
R 150 H191

Encyclopedia of Educational Research
R 370.3 En19e 1992

Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence
R 153.903 En19 1994

Dictionary of Behavioral Assessment Techniques
R 150.28 D561 1988

Dictionary of Concepts in General Psychology
R 150.321 P944d c1988

Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming
R 154.603 En19 c1993

Encyclopedia of Bioethics (5 vols)
R 174.203 En19 c1995

Encyclopedia of Sociology (4 vols.)
R 301.03 En 195 1991

Encyclopedia of Aging and the Elderly
R 305.2603 R812e c1992

Encyclopedia of Adolescence
R 305.235 En19 c1990

Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory
R 153.103 En19 1992

Encyclopedia of Psychology (4 vols.)
R150.3 En19 1994

Top of Page

General Reference

Tests in Print V (2 vols.)
R 016.37126 B937 1999

Tests 3rd edition
R 150.287 SW36t 1991

A Chronology of Noteworthy Events in American Psychology
R 150.973 St83 c1994

The Handbook of Social Psychology (2 vols.)
R 302 H191 1998

The Mental Measurement Yearbook
R 370.16 R932 2001

Test Critiques (10 vols.)
R 370.16 T286

DSM-IV-R (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)
R 616.89075 Am35d 1994

The Psychologist's Companion
R 808.06615 St45p 1993

Top of Page

Bibliographies/Sourcebooks

Psychology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
R 016.15 B336p c1993

Sources of Information in the Social Sciences
Library Use: A Handbook for Psychology
2nd edition

R 025.5602415 R2515 1992

Studies in Human Sexuality : A Selected Guide
R 016.3067 F869 c1995

Women in Psychology: A Bibliographic Sourcebook
R 150.922 W842 c1990

Top of Page

______________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES


To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Academic Search Premier by Ebsco includes over 3,500 full text peer reviewed journals from a variety of academic disciplines.

The Professional Development Collection, by Ebsco is a collection of more than 500 full text journals of likely interest to educators.

PsychINFO, indexed in FirstSearch, is a non full-text database of more than 9,900 sources covering psychology and related fields such as education.

ERIC, the Education Resources Information Clearinghouse is a database containing “more than one million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.” It may be accessed through FirstSearch or Ebsco.

Top of Page

______________________________________________________________________________________________

 

… and from the World Wide Web

 

Social Science Information Gateway or SOSIG - Psychology
http://www.sosig.ac.uk/roads/subject-listing/World-cat/psych.html

BUBL LINK
http://link.bubl.ac.uk/psychology/

Infomine Scholarly Internet Resource Collections (Follow the Social Sciences and Humanities link and search using the term, psychology).
http://infomine.ucr.edu/

Web Pages that Perform Statistical Calculations Includes links to calculating pages
http://members.aol.com/johnp71/javastat.html

Psych Web Resources
http://www.psychwww.com/

APA Style Resources
http://www.psywww.com/resource/apacrib.htm

Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005