Political Science - A LIBRARY GUIDE

 

Table of Contents

 

Reference Books

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Other Reference

______________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books, identify a subject heading from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject (e g. Political culture--United States--History--19th century). You might also search by keyword and then 'follow' a linked subject heading found with a full catalog record related to the keyword.

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the third floor of the Library:
300 – 310 General Social Science 320’s Political Science 330’s Economics 340’s Law 350’s Public Administration 930 – 990’s History

In your research you will likely want to use both primary sources and secondary sources. Primary sources are documents of history such as letters, governmental records (i. e. The Congressional Record), speeches, texts of laws legal rulings, treaties and Presidential papers. A primary source may also be the words of “the first recorders of an event” (Jacques Barzun, The modern researcher . Fifth edition (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1992), p.114 ). Secondary sources are documents about history. The author(s) did not participate in the event about which they write. Textbooks are examples of secondary sources.

Some representative examples of primary sources in the library include:

Testimony of witnesses: The Richard M. Nixon Impeachment Hearings 353.036 Un3t

Hoover, Herbert Addresses upon the American road 973.9 H769

Jefferson, Thomas The republic of letters : the correspondence between Thomas Jefferson and James Madison, 1776-1826 973.4092 J359

Harrison, Maureen Landmark decisions of the United States Supreme Court
347.7326 L235

Note: Try the subject term (country name History Sources) for catalog records of selected original sources held in the library. As in: Great Britain history sources)

Top of Page

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

The following Reference Titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

R 342.73 En19
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Levy, Leonard Williams

R 348.7303 W529
West's encyclopedia of American law
West Group.

R 340.03 St89s
Stroud's judicial dictionary of words and phrases
Stroud, Frederick

R 032 En19 1998
The New Encyclopaedia Britannica
Encyclopaedia Britannica, inc

Yearbooks and Almanacs

R 310.5 St29 2003
The Statesman's year-book

R 353.905 B64
The book of the states
Council of State Governments

Top of Page

Other Reference

347.732603 _Ox2
The Oxford companion to the Supreme Court of the United States
Hall, Kermit.

R 347.7326 W783c 1990
Congressional Quarterly's guide to the U.S. Supreme Court
Witt, Elder.

R 973 An72
The Annals of America
Encyclopaedia Britannica, inc

R 328.73 C76
Congressional quarterly almanac
Congressional Quarterly, inc.

R 328.73 C76 2003
CQ weekly
Congressional Quarterly, inc.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES


Top of Page

To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Academic Search Premier by EBSCO includes over 3,800 full-text peer reviewed journals from a variety of academic disciplines.

Newspaper Source by EBSCO provides access to the full text of over 200 newspapers.

GPO Access by OCLC FirstSearch is a ‘repackaged’ version of the U.S. Government Printing Office’s database of government documents. Many can be accessed online by checking for any URL’s that may be included with a citation record.

Lexis-Nexis is a news, business, health, legal and reference database. Of particular note is the collection of legal materials including full-text court rulings and law journals.

Top of Page
________________________________________________________________________________________________


From the WORLD WIDE WEB

Webliographies (AKA Quality Controlled Gateways)


The Internet Public Library: Law, Government and Political Science
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/law00.00.00/

Librarians Index to the Internet: Government & Law
http://lii.org/search/file/govlaw

Social Science Information Gateway: Politics
http://sosig.esrc.bris.ac.uk/politics/

BUBL Link Political Science
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/p/politicalscience.htm

Historical Documents and Records

The Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law History and Diplomacy
http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/avalon.htm

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/coredocs.html

American Memory Project: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/ammemhome.html

Eurodocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe http://www.lib.byu.edu/%7Erdh/eurodocs/index.html

University of Michigan Document Center: FOREIGN GOVERNMENTS Constitutions, Laws, and Treaties
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/forcons.html

Top of Page

 State and Local Government

Stateline.org: Your Source for State News
http://www.stateline.org/index.do

Iowa Official State Web Site
http://www.state.ia.us/

U.S. Federal Government

FirstGov.gov: The U.S. Government’s Official Web Portal
http://www.firstgov.gov

Thomas Legislative Information on the Internet
http://thomas.loc.gov/

  Law and Legal

Legal Information Institute of Cornell University: Supreme Court Collection
http://supct.law.cornell.edu/supct/

Public Policy Issues

Political Science Resources Think Tanks
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/psthink.html


Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005