Philosophy - A Library Guide

Table of Contents

 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books identify a subject term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject (e g. aesthetics). You may also search by keyword and then identify and ‘follow’ linked subject headings included in the catalog record.

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the third floor of the Library: 110 Metaphysics
120 Epistemology, causation, humankind, 130 Paranormal phenomena, 140 Specific philosophical schools, 150 Psychology, 160 Logic, 170 Ethics (Moral philosophy), 180 Ancient, medieval, Oriental philosophy, 190 Modern Western philosophy

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

The following Reference Titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process:


R 100 C748
Concise Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy
Routledge

R 100 Ox2
The Oxford companion to philosophy
Honderich, Ted.

R 103 B193
Dictionary of philosophy and psychology : including many of the principal conceptions of ethics, logic aesthetics, philosophy of religion, mental pathology, anthropolgy, biology, neurology, physiology, economics, political and social philosophy, philology, physical science, and education; and giving a terminology in English, French, German, and Italian (3 volumes)
Baldwin, James Mark, 1861-1934.

R 103 En19
The encyclopedia of philosophy (8 volumes)
Edwards,Paul

R 107 D363p
The philosopher's guide to sources, research tools, professional life, and related fields
De George, Richard T.

R 107 T435r
Research guide to philosophy
Tice, Terrence N.

R 130.3 M495n 1990
New age encyclopedia : a guide to the beliefs, concepts, terms, people, and organizations that make up the new global movement toward spiritual development, health and healing, higher consciousness, and related subjects
Melton, J. Gordon.

R 133.03 M311
Man, myth & magic : the illustrated encyclopedia of mythology, religion and the unknown (21 volumes)
Cavendish, Richard.

R 174.2 B471
Bibliography of bioethics (29 volumes)
Kennedy Institute of Ethics

R 185 Ar46
Aristotle dictionary
Aristotle.

R 190 B568
The Blackwell guide to the modern philosophers : from Descartes to Nietzsche
Emmanuel, Steven M.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
Top of Page

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES


To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Academic Search Premier by EBSCO accesses over 4,600 full-text publications including 3,500 peer reviewed journals.

MLA Bibliography by FirstSearch provides more than 1,000,000 citations pertaining to
literature, language, linguistics and folklore. The FirstSearch interface identifies those articles that may be available in our library in print as full-text.

Ebsco A-Z is a listing of periodicals available either in print in the Morningside Library or through the databases to which Morningside College is subscriber.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page


From the World Wide Web



BUBL LINK/ 5:15 Philosophy Links
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/p/philosophylinks.htm

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
http://plato.stanford.edu/contents.html

Guide to Philosophy on the Internet
http://www.earlham.edu/~peters/philinks.htm

The Internet Public Library Philosophy
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum70.00.00/

Contemporary Philosophy, Critical Theory and Postmodern Thought
http://carbon.cudenver.edu/~mryder/itc_data/postmodern.html

Philosophy in Cyberspace
http://www-personal.monash.edu.au/~dey/phil/

Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005