Nursing - A Library Guide

 

Table of Contents

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS


To search for books, identify a subject term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject. You may also search by keyword and then identify and ‘follow’ linked subject headings included in the catalog record.

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the third floor of the library: 610.73 Nursing Study and Teaching, 611 Human Anatomy 612 Physiology, 613 Health (promtion, behavior & disease prevention), 614 Public Health, 615 Pharmacology, 616 Pathology and Disease, 617 Surgery, 618 Obstetrics, 618.9 Geriatrics.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES

R 610.14 T492 (c1997)
Medical terms : their roots and origins
Tindall, A. R. (Alex R.), 1924-

R 610.3 N42 (c1995)
The New complete Medical and health encyclopedia (4 volumes)
Wagman, Richard J., 1932-

R 610.3 T113 (c2001)
Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary
Venes, Donald, 1952-

R 610.73 M85 (c1995)
Mosby's home health nursing pocket consultant
Como, N. Darlene.

DIAGNOSIS AND CARE

R 610.73 Sp26 (c2001)
Nursing diagnosis reference manual
Sparks, Sheila M.

R 613.0973 C547 (c2001)
A step-by-step guide to delivering clinical preventive services : a systems approach : put prevention into practice
Clark, Barbara.

R 610.730692 N937 (c2000)
Nurse practitioner's clinical companion
Springhouse Corporation.

R 610.7361 M85 (c2000)
Mosby's emergency nursing reference
Kidd, Pamela Stinson.

R 616.028 M319 (c1995)
Manual of critical care nursing : nursing interventions and collaborative management
Swearingen, Pamela L.

R 616.0754 M291 (c1996)
Nurse's manual of laboratory tests and diagnostic procedures
Malarkey, Louise M.

R 617.14 H463 (c1999)
Wound care
Hess, Cathy Thomas, 1961-

R 618.97 M537 (c1995)
The Merck manual of geriatrics
Abrams, William B.

Top of Page

PEDIATRICS

R 610.7306 C812 (c2000)
Core curriculum for maternal-newborn nursing
Mattson, Susan.

R 610.7362 M495 (c1996)
Pediatric and postpartum home health nursing : assessment and care planning
Melson, Kathryn A.

R 610.7362 M85 (c2000)
Mosby's pediatric nursing reference
Sowden, Linda A.

R 618.2 M85 (c1999)
Mosby's maternal-newborn patient teaching guides
Schlef, Carol L.

R 618.9200025 C738 (c2000)
The Complete directory for pediatric disorders: disorder descriptions, body systems descriptions, national & state associations, libraries & resource centers, support groups & hotlines, books & periodicals, research centers, web sites
Grey House Publishing, Inc.

Top of Page

DRUGS AND MEDICATION

R 615.025 P569 2003
Physicians' desk reference : PDR

R 615.025 P569n (c1999)
Physicians' desk reference for nonprescription drugs and dietary supplements
Medical Economics Company.

R 615.5 F431 (c1999)
Professional's handbook of complementary & alternative medicines
Fetrow, Charles W.

R 615.6 B644 (c1996)
Infusion therapy : techniques & medications
Booker, Marilyn Ferreri.

R 615.855 G123 (c2001)
Intravenous medications : a handbook for nurses and allied health professionals
Gahart, Betty L.

R 616.994061 W652 (c2001)
2001 oncology nursing drug handbook
Wilkes, Gail M.

Top of Page

DISEASES AND DISORDERS

R 616 P942 (c2001)
Professional guide to diseases
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. Springhouse Division.

R 616.042 G286 (c1996)
Genetic disorders sourcebook : basic information about heritable diseases and disorders such as Down syndrome, PKU, hemophilia, Von Willebrand disease, Gaucher disease, Tay-Sachs disease, and sickle cell disease
Bellenir, Karen.

R 616.8526 Ea82 (c1999)
Eating disorders : a reference sourcebook
Lemberg, Raymond.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES

Top of Page

To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) by Ebsco includes article abstracts from over 1100 scientific journals.

Medline by FirstSearch is the repackaged article index of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Coverage includes records of over 12million articles, many of which include abstracts. Medline is also available through Lexis-Nexis and directly from the National Library of Medicine.

Lexis-Nexis is a news, business, health, legal and reference database. Of particular note is the collection of legal materials relative to healthcare.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition by Ebsco provides access to 600 scholarly full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed journals.

Clinical Pharmacology by Ebsco is a database that features full-text monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, over-the-counter medications, herbal and nutritional supplements and experimental drugs.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

From the WORLD WIDE WEB

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT SITES

National Institutes of Health
http://www.nih.gov/

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
http://www.ahrq.gov/

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
http://www.cdc.gov/

United States Department of Health and Human Services
http://www.hhs.gov

Medline plus Health Information
http://medlineplus.gov/

PubMed Central
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=pmc

GENERAL HEALTH INFORMATION

HealthInfoIowa
http://www.healthinfoiowa.org/

Mayo Clinic
http://www.mayo.edu/

Top of Page

COMMUNITY HEALTH AND HEALTH POLICY

Kaiser Family Foundation
http://www.kff.org/

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
http://www.rwjf.org/index.jsp

PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS

American Nurses Association
http://www.nursingworld.org/

National Student Nurses’ Association
http://www.nsna.org/

EVALUATION OF HEALTH INFORMATION ON THE WORLD WIDE WEB

Health on the Net Foundation HON Code of Conduct
http://www.hon.ch/HONcode/Conduct.html

Evaluating Health Information
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/evaluatinghealthinformation.html

Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005