Music - A LIBRARY GUIDE

Table of Contents

 

Reference books in the library

Periodical Indexes, Bibliographies and Guides
Specialized Reference Works
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

 

________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS


To search for books, try these examples of exact subject headings by entering them in the search box of the online library catalog: "musical analysis" "music xxth century history and criticism," music 500-1400 history and criticism" or by composer name as in Bach Johann Sebastian. Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the second floor of the library stacks:

780’s Music History and Criticism, 781’s Musical Analysis, 782’s Opera History, 783’s Church Music, 784’s Choral Music, 785’s Orchestra and Orchestration, 786’s Piano Music, 787’s Stringed Instrument, 788’s Wind Instruments, 789’s Percussion Instruments, 371.9 Music Education

To search for scores and recordings,
select the Power Search button of the catalog web interface and on the following web page, enter your search term(s), scroll to the bottom of the screen and make the appropriate selection from the itemtype scroll box.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

The following reference titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process:

Periodical Indexes, Bibliographies and Guides

The Music Index
R 016.7805 M971
A subject and author guide to music periodical literature compiled from over 350 international sources. The library has 1979-1985 in microfilm and 1987 – 1995 in print.

Index to Negro Spirituals
R 016.7822508996073 In2 1991

Rock Stars/Pop Stars, 1955-1994

R 016.78 L597 c1994

Church Music : An International Bibliography
R 016.78171 V894c c1980

Afro-American Religious Music
R 016.78225 J134a c1979

Music Reference and Research Materials
R 780.016 D858m 1988

Research Guide to Musicology
R 780.01 P952r

Top of Page

Specialized Reference Works


Popular Titles and Subtitles of Musical Compositions
R 016.78 B455p

The New Oxford History of Music
R 780.9 N42 c1957

Aspects of Medieval and Renaissance Music
R 780.903 L328 c1966

Historical Anthology of Music by Women
R 780.928 H629

Musician’s Handbook of Foreign Terms
R 781.23 Am62m

Guide to Native American Music Recordings
R 781.7297 G584 c1994

Word by Word Translations of Songs and Arias
R 781.96 W891 c1966.

Phonetic Readings of Songs and Arias
R 784.932 P566 c1982

Top of Page

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries


Harvard Dictionary of Music
R 780.3 Ap22 1969

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
R 780.3 G916 2001

International Cyclopedia of Music and Musicians
R 780.3 In8 1975

Golden Encyclopedia of Music
R 780.3 L777g

The Oxford Dictionary of Music
R 780.3 Ox2 c1994

Dictionary of Contemporary Music
R 780.3 V795d c1974

Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
R 780.922 B177b 1992

ASCAP Biographical Dictionary
R 780.928 Am35 1980

New Grove Dictionary of American Music
R 781.03 G89 c1986

Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music
R 781.6403 G956 c1992

New Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock & Roll
R 781.6603 N42 c1995

Top of Page

Musical Instruments: A Comprehensive Dictionary
R 781.9103 M334m 1975

Dictionary of Opera and Song Themes
R 781.97 B249d c1976

New Grove Dictionary of Opera
R 782.102 N42 c1992

Encyclopedia of Opera
R 782.103 En19 c1976

Encyclopedia of Jazz in the Seventies
R 785.42 F313e c1976

Encyclopedia of Jazz in the Sixties
R 785.42 F313e 1986

New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
R 785.42

Top of Page

____________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES

To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Academic Search Premier by EBSCO includes over 2,500 full-text peer reviewed journals from a variety of academic disciplines.

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center by Ebsco includes citations and abstracts from over 980 scholarly educational titles, and the full text of more than 2,200 digests.

Serial Solutions is a listing of periodicals available either in print in the Morningside Library or through the databases to which Morningside College is subscriber.

Top of Page

____________________________________________________________________________________________

From the World Wide Web

Webliographies (AKA Quality Controlled Gateways):

Librarians' Index to the Internet - Music Topics
http://lii.org/search/file/music

The Internet Public Library - Music
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum20.60.00/

BUBL Link Creative Arts
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/art.html

Worldwide Internet Music Resources
http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/

Music History

Music History Resources
http://www.geocities.com/papandrew/

Smithsonian Institution Musical History
http://www.si.edu/resource/faq/nmah/music.htm

WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists
http://www.sas.upenn.edu/music/ams/musicology_www.html

American Music Resources
http://www.uncg.edu/mus/courses/flmccart/amr/

Music Miscellaneous

Operabase
http://operabase.com/en/

Instrument Encyclopedia
http://www.si.umich.edu/chico/instrument/

Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005