Literary Criticism - A LIBRARY GUIDE

Table of Contents

 

______________________________________________________________________________________

                              SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books, identify a subject term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject (e.g. American Literature History and Criticism). To locate criticism relative to a specific author, use the following syntax: lastname firstname birthyear-year of death criticism and interpretation (e.g. Steinbeck, John, 1902-1968 criticism and interpretation) One might also search by keyword and then 'follow' a linked subject heading found with a full catalog record related to the keyword.

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the second floor of the library Literature (General) 800’s American Literature 810’s English Literature 820’s German Literature 830’s French Literature 840’s Italian Literature 850’s Spanish Literature 860’s Latin Literature Literature 870’s Classical Literature 880’s Other Nationalities 890’s
______________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

                    REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

The following titles, representative of the library’s Reference Collection may be helpful during the beginning of your research process:

The Gale Literature Criticism Series

Poetry Criticism (Between 50 and 100 Volumes)
R 809.1 P7529

Shakespearean Criticism (Between 50 and 100 Volumes)
R 822.33 D

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (More than 100 volumes)
R 809.005 C569 (For authors dying before1400)

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (More than 100 volumes)
R 809.034 N622 (For authors dying between 1800-1899)

Twentieth-Century Literature Criticism (More than 100 volumes)
R 809.04 T918 (For authors dying between 1900 and 1999)

Contemporary Literature Criticism (More than 100 volumes)
R 809.04 R451c (For authors now living or who died after 1999)

Top of Page

Other Reference Titles

The Cambridge History of English literature (15 volumes, #14 missing)
Ward, Adolphus William, Sir, 1837-1924.
R 820.9 C144
Also available in the public domain @ http://www.bartleby.com/cambridge/

The Cambridge History of American literature (v. 1. 1590-1820 -- v. 2. Prose writing, 1820-1865 -- v.7. Prose writing, 1940-1990 -- v. 8. Poetry and criticism, 1940-1995)
Bercovitch, Sacvan.
R 810.9 C144

Handbook of Russian literature
Terras, Victor.
R 891.703 H191

Handbook of Latin American literature
Foster, David William.
809.898 H191

Encyclopedia of Post-colonial Literatures in English (2 volumes)
Benson, Eugene.
R 820.9917 En19

The Oxford Companion to Classical literature
Harvey, Paul, Sir
R 880.9001 Ox2 1991

The Oxford Companion to Crime and Mystery Writing
Herbert, Rosemary
R 809.387203 H415

The Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory and criticism
Groden, Michael.
R 016.809 J623

Top of Page

_______________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES

To search for articles, these online databases are useful in locating both full-text articles and bibliographic citations in the field of Literature and Literary Criticism.

Academic Search Premier by Ebsco includes over 3,500 full-text peer reviewed journals from avariety of academic disciplines including literary criticism.

MLA Bibliography by FirstSearch provides more than 1,000,000 citations pertaining to
literature, language, linguistics and folklore. The FirstSearch interface identifies those articles that may be available in our library in print as full-text.

Access to these online databases may be secured through the Morningside College library Webpage @ http://library.morningside.edu/onlinedatabases.htm

_______________________________________________________________________________________
Top of Page

From the World Wide Web

The Internet Public Library: Literary Criticism A Web Page with links to selected material that may be searched by author name, literary period or nationality.
http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/

BUBL Link / 5:15 Catalogue of Internet Resources: Literary Studies The Libraries of Networked Knowledge have selected, assessed the quality and catalogued 39 Internet resources linked from this page.
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/l/literarystudies.htm

Tope of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005