History - A LIBRARY GUIDE

Table of Contents

 

Reference books in the library

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Yearbooks and Almanacs
Other Reference

 

________________________________________________________________________________________________

                                      SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books, identify a subject term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject (e g. UNITED STATES HISTORY CIVIL WAR 1861-1865). You might also search by keyword and then 'follow' a linked subject heading found with a full catalog record linked to the keyword.

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the second floor of the Library:
930 History of the ancient world 940 General history of Europe 950 General history of Asia & Far East 960 General history of Africa 970 General history of North America 980 General history of South America 990 General history of other areas

Top of Page

In your research you will likely want to use both primary sources and secondary sources. Primary sources are documents of history such as letters, governmental records (i. e. The Congressional Record), speeches, texts of laws legal rulings, treaties and Presidential papers. A primary source may also be the words of “the first recorders of an event” (Jacques Barzun, The modern researcher . Fifth edition (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1992), p.114 ). Secondary sources are documents about history. The author(s) did not participate in the event about which they write. Textbooks are examples of secondary sources.

Some representative examples of primary sources in the library include:

Testimony of witnesses: The Richard M. Nixon Impeachment Hearings 353.036 Un3t

Hoover, Herbert Addresses upon the American road 973.9 H769

Jefferson, Thomas The republic of letters : the correspondence between Thomas Jefferson and James Madison, 1776-1826 973.4092 J359

Harrison, Maureen Landmark decisions of the United States Supreme Court
347.7326 L235

Note: Try the subject term (country name History Sources) for catalog records of selected original sources held in the library. As in: Great Britain history sources)

________________________________________________________________________________________________
Top of Page

                     REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY


The following reference titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process.      

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

R 909.07 D561
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Strayer, Joseph Reese

R 900.xx -
The Cambridge Encyclopedias of …

R 940.2 B453e
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Bergin, Thomas Goddard

R 901.91 C144h
The Cambridge ancient history
Bury, J. B. (John Bagnell),

R 973.03 En19
Encyclopedia of American cultural and intellectual history
Cayton, Mary Kupiec.

R 950 En19
Encyclopedia of Asian history (4 vols)
Embree, Ainslie Thomas

R 949.50303 Ox2
The Oxford dictionary of Byzantium (3 vols)
Kazhdan, A. P. (Aleksandr Petrovich)

Top of Page             

Yearbooks and Almanacs


R 310.59 W893
World almanac and book of facts

R 310 Am3
The American year book : a record of events and progess

R 970.00497 N2125
The Native North American almanac : a reference work on native North Americans in the United States and Canada
Champagne, Duane

Other Reference

R 909 H62956
History behind the headlines : the origins of conflicts worldwide (5 vols)

R 973.92 Am35
American decades (10 vols)
Tompkins, Vincent.

R 973 An72
The Annals of America
Encyclopaedia Britannica, inc

Top of Page
________________________________________________________________________________________________

                                  SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES

To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Academic Search Premier by EBSCO includes over 2,500 full-text peer reviewed journals from a variety of academic disciplines.

Lexis-Nexis is a news, business, health, legal and reference database. Of particular note is the collection of legal materials including full-text court rulings and law journals

Ebsco A-Z is a listing of periodicals available either in print in the Morningside Library or through the databases to which Morningside College is subscriber.

Top of Page
________________________________________________________________________________________________


From the World Wide Web

Webliographies (AKA Quality Controlled Gateways)

The Internet Public Library - History
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum30.00.00/

Librarians' Index to the Internet: History Topics
http://lii.org/search/file/history

The Scout Report Archives
http://scout.wisc.edu/archives/

BUBL Link History
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/h/historylinks.htm

Top of Page

Historical Documents

The Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law History and Diplomacy
http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/avalon.htm

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/coredocs.html

American Memory Project: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/ammemhome.html

Eurodocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe http://www.lib.byu.edu/%7Erdh/eurodocs/index.html

The Internet History Sourcebooks
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/

The Making of America
http://www.hti.umich.edu/m/moagrp/

Law and Legal

Legal Information Institute of Cornell University: Supreme Court Collection
http://supct.law.cornell.edu/supct/index.html

Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005