U.S. Government Documents - A Web Guide
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________
The Catalog of Monthly Publications is a searchable index to publications (print and digital) of the Federal government. It is updated daily. Online publications may be accessed via a hyperlink included with the citation information. Firstgov.gov is the official website of the United States Government. It is also a portal to state, tribal and local government information. The
Oklahoma State University Library Documents Department
and the Government Printing Office have collaborated by creating a
subject-classified directory of Federal Government resources. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________ The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) are the rules under which executive departments and agencies of the Federal government operate. The CFR includes 50 titles (i.e. chapters) reflective of Federal regulatory activities. Additional information about the Code of Federal Regulations may be found at: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/about.html. The Federal Register (FR) is the government’s daily publication in which rules, proposed rules, agency and department announcements and Presidential orders and documents are disseminated to the public. Additional information about the Federal Register may be found at: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/about.html Public Papers of the President of the United States include presidential written pronouncements and public remarks and addresses. Documents dating from 1992 through 2001 are indexed and available online through GPO Access. Additional information about the Public Papers may be found at: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/pubpapers/about.html The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents includes “presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary” (GPO Access). Online availability of documents through GPO Access begins with 1993 materials and is current. More information about the Weekly Compilation may be found at: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/wcomp/about.html. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________ Congressional Documents although issued by specific committees of the House and the Senate, they also include materials and reports created by non-Congressional entities. Documents are available online back to the 104th Congress (1995-1996). Additional information about these documents may be found at: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/cdocuments/about.html. Congressional Reports document the investigative and legislative activities of committees of the House and the Senate. Documents are available online back to the 104th Congress (1995-1996). Additional information about these reports may be found at: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/creports/about.html. The
Congressional Record documents the deliberative activities
of both houses of Congress. It is published daily and is available
online through GPO Access back to 1994. The House Journal unlike the Congressional Record is the official record of the U.S. House of Representatives. The House Journal, beginning in 1991 is available through GPO Access. Congressional Bills include all versions of legislative proposals. Legislation may come in the forms of Senate and House Bills and Joint, Concurrent and Simple Resolutions. Documents are available online back to the 104th Congress (2003-2004). Additional information about Congressional Bills and versions thereof may be found at: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/bills/glossary.html. Public
and Private Laws are available online beginning with
laws approved by the 104th Congress and signed into law by the President.
Additional information about Laws and Private Laws may be found at:
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/plaws/about.html. Thomas – Legislative
Information is an alternative to GPO Access for online
access to Congressional documents and records. In some cases, this
may be an easier interface to use than GPO Access Findlaw for Legal Professionals includes links to the texts of Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1893. The Supreme Court Preview although not a service of the U.S. Judiciary, the Preview is resource of the American Bar Association. Its emphasis is background information relative to pending cases. Legal Information Institute of the Cornell School of Cornell University provides directory of topical links as well as access to many other legal resources such appellate court decisions, state legal documents and rules of legal procedures. Supreme Court of the United States – Index is the Home of the United States Supreme Court. The resources that follow may be accessed from this page. Arguments Transcripts document the oral arguments made before the Supreme Court. The transcripts are available back to the year 2000. Orders and Journal The Supreme Court Journal is the official set minutes of the Court. The Orders of the Court are unsigned decisions of the Court. In some cases individual justices may issue an opinion relative to an order. These are also found under this link. Orders and opinions are available back to the year 2000. Opinions
become available within hours of their announcement. Documents in the News is a service of the Documents Center of the University of Michigan. Links to primary sources, (government and non-government) relative to current events may be found here. The Center has archived documents dating back to 1995. Browse Government Resources is a service of the Library of Congress. This site includes a mix of links to both government and non-government resources. Archives Library Information Center includes links to several 'how to' guides to locating government information. ______________________________________________________________________________________________________ Government documents may also be accessed through online databases for which the Morningide College Library pay subscription fees. These are listed below: Lexis-Nexis is a news, business, health, legal and reference database. Of particular note is its Legal Research module. Here researchers may access state and federal court decisions, case law by legal subject, international materials, state codes and federal documents also available through GPO Access. GPO Monthly Catalog by FirstSearch
accesses for the researcher, the GPO Monthly Catalog. Many will find
this interface more user-friendly than access points administered
by the General Printing Office. |
|||||||
|
The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility. MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics Calendars | Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)
© Copyright 2006 Morningside College |