Global Geography & World Affairs- A LIBRARY GUIDE

Table of Contents

 

Reference Books in the library

 Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
 Area Specific Encyclopedias
 Atlases & Gazetteers
 Handbooks/Guides/Yearbooks
 The World Today Series
 Other Reference

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS


To search for books, identify a subject term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject (e.g. human geography).One might also search by keyword and then 'follow' a linked subject heading found with a full catalog record related to the keyword. Or browse the following Dewey numbers located in the library stacks: 320’s – 330’s political science and economics and 900’s geography and history.
________________________________________________________________________________________________

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

Top of Page


The following Reference Titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process:

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Colliers’ Encyclopedia (24 vols.)
R 031 C393 1997

The New Encyclopaedia Britannica (32 vols.)

R 032 En19 c2003

The world book encyclopedia (2002)
World Book, Inc.
R 031 W893

Dictionary of Concepts in Human Geography
R 304.20321 L326d c1983

Encyclopedia of the Peoples of the World
R 305.8003 En19 c1993

Modern Geography: An Encyclopedic Survey
R 910.3 M72 1991

Oxford Dictionary of the World
R 910.3 Ox2 c1995

Encyclopedia of World Cultures (10 vols)
R 306.03 En 1991-1994

Top of Page                                     

Area-specific Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
R 944.0803 En19 c1998

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East (4 vols.)
R 956.003 En19 c1996

Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa

R 960.2 En19 c1997

Cambridge Encyclopedia of ...
... Russia and the Former Soviet Union
R 947.00321 C144 1994            

Atlases & Gazetteers

Columbia Gazetteer of the World
R 910.3 C72 c1998

Atlas of the World
(Atlas Table) R 912 G293 c1996

Top of Page                                   

Handbooks/Guides/Yearbooks

The World's Women 1995: Trends and Statistics
R 305.42 W8935 1995

Statesman's Yearbook: The Politics, Cultures and Economies of the World
R 310.5 St29 (Annual Publication)
Contains information about international organizations and, alphabetically, individual countries.

The World Almanac and Book of Facts
R 310.59 W893 (Annual Publication)
Provides up-to-date facts, maps, and comprehensive coverage of year's
leading issues. Index listed first. Current copy at Reference Desk.

Yearbook of the United Nations
R 341.130601 Un3 (Annual Publication)

Statistical Yearbook of the United Nations
R 311.3 Un3 (Annual Publication)

Demographic Yearbook of the United Nations
R 312.021 D396 (Annual Publication).

Political Handbook of the World
R 329.99 C832 (Annual Publication)
Provides information by country about political parties, constitutions, and governmental organizations.

State of the World
R 330.904 St29 (Annual Publication)
A review of environmental issues from a world perspective.

Environmental Encyclopedia
R 363.7000 En89 1994

Top of Page                                           

The World Today Series

Western Europe
R 940.559 W525 (Annual Publication)

Russia, Eurasian States and Eastern Europe
R 947.086 R920 (Annual Publication)

East, Southeast Asia and the Western Pacific
R 950.429 Ea77 (Annual Publication)

Middle East and South Asia
R 956 M584 (Annual Publication)

Africa
R 960 Af829 (Annual Publication)

Canada

R 971 C16 (Annual Publication)

Latin America
R 980.039 L349 (Annual Publication)

Nordic, Central, and Southeastern Europe

R 943 T379 (Annual Publication)

Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States

R 947.086 Sh73 (Annual Publication)

Top of Page                                                  

Other Reference

Culturgrams: The Nations Around Us (2 vols.)
R 390 C899 1993

Ethnologue : Languages of the World
R 410 Et38 c1988

Countries of the World and Their Leaders
R 910 C832 (Annual Publication)


___________________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES

Top of Page

To Search for articles in online databases select one or more from the “Virtual Library” homepage at: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Ebsco Academic Search Premier “Provides full text for more than 3,800 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.” (Ebsco, 2002)

Ebsco Newspaper Source “Provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times (for a total of 194 full text newspapers and other sources).

Lexis-Nexis is a news, business, health, legal and reference database.

Ebsco A-Z is a listing of periodicals available either in print in the Morningside Library or through the databases to which Morningside College is subscriber.


___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page


FROM THE WORLD WIDE WEB


Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
: A collection of over 5,000 online relief, thematic and historic maps covering all areas of the world. This site also included text links to a variety of statistical sites of potential interest to students of geography, political science, history and of the other social sciences.

http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/

INCORE: An initiative of the University of Ulster and the United Nations University, its mission is to conduct research in the areas of political, religious and ethnic conflict. The link, ‘Country Guides’ brings visitors to country-specific information.

http://www.incore.ulst.ac.uk/

The World Fact Book 2003: The online version of the CIA World Fact Book links readers to country guides as well as to a small collection of world and regional maps.

http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/

United Nations Cartographic Section: Has links to over 100 maps, some of which are thematic as well as a link to The United Nations Geographical Information Working Group.

http://www.un.org/Depts/Cartographic/english/index.htm

United States Geological Survey: Has links to a variety of topics such as natural disasters and to thousands of maps. Link to maps is identified as “Online Maps and Photos”

http://www.usgs.gov

U.S Department of State: Homepage of the State Department has links to resources relative to current issues and to Country Background Notes.

http://www.state.gov

United Nations Population Information Network: Is a guide to worldwide population information as created by the United Nations. Follow the link, Statistics Division for specific country information.

http://www.un.org/popin/data.html

The World Bank Group – Data and Maps: The focus here is poverty and economic development.

http://www.worldbank.org/data/

World Trade Organization – Trade Statistics: Statistical information as it concerns world trade. Data is current as well as historical.

http://www.wto.org/english/res_e/statis_e/statis_e.htm

International Monetary Fund (IMF) – Country Information: Is a listing of country links. Each country page includes text links relative to the activities of the IMF in that country, economic news and to detailed and comprehensive economic and demographic data identified as the “Statistical Annex”.

http://www.imf.org/external/country/index.htm

Top of Page




The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005