Education - A Library Guide

Table of Contents

 


____________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books, identify a subject term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject (e.g. educaiton secondary). You may also search by keyword and then identify and ‘follow’ linked subject headings included in the catalog record.

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the third floor of the library stacks
Education elementary 370....thru 372....
Education Curricula 370's
Education secondary 372....thru 373...

___________________________________________________________________________________________


                                        REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

The following Reference Titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process:
                                              

Handbooks and Encyclopedias

International Handbook of Educational Reform
R 370 In75 c1992

Encyclopedia of education
R 370.3 Ed832 2003

Handbook of Research on Teaching
R 370.78 G121 1985

Handbook of Research on School Supervision
R 371.203 H191 c1998

Handbook of Research for Educational Communications and Technology
R 371.3078 H191 c1996

Educating the Gifted: A Sourcebook
R 371.21 In8 c1992

International Handbook of Early Childhood Education
R 372.21 In8 c1992

Handbook of Research on Curriculum
R 375.00973 H191 c1992

International Handbook of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education
R 404.2 In8 c1988

Handbook of Reserach on Teaching the English Language Arts
R 428.007 H191 c1991

Handbook of Reading Research
R 428.4072 H191 c1984


Handbook of Research on Science Teaching and Learning
R 507.1 H191 c1994

Top of Page
                                                                     

Other Reference Materials

Tests in Print IV: An Index to Tests, Test Review, and the Literature on Specific Tests
R 016.37126 B937 c1994

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for ASsessments in Psychology, Education, and Business. 3rd edition
R 150.287 Sw36t 1991

Mental Measurements Yearbook
R 370.16 R932 1940-current

Test Critiques
R 370.16 T286 1984-current

Thesaurus of ERIC descriptors
R 370.78 Et83d 2001

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES

To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to wh ich may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu

PsychINFO, indexed in First Search is a non-full text database of more than 9,000 sources covering psychology and related fields such as education.

Academic Search Premier by Ebsco includes over 3,500 full text peer reviewed journals from a variety of academic disciplines.

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center by Ebsco includes citations and abstracts from 980 scholarly educational titles, and the full text of more than 2,200 digests.

The Professional Development Collection, an Ebsco database is a collection of more than 500 full text journals of likely interest to educators.

Top of Page

____________________________________________________________________________________________

From the World Wide Web     

Government Sites

United States Department of Education
http://www.ed.gov/

Iowa Department of Education
http://www.state.ia.us/educate/
     

Professional Sites

American Association of School Administrators
http://www.aasa.org/

American Federation of Teachers
http://www.aft.org/

National School Boards Assocation
http://www.nsba.org/site/index.asp

National Education Association
http://www.nea.org/
                                                              

Other Sites

The Michigan Electronic Library
http://mel.lib.mi.us/education/education-index.html

Monroe C. Gutman Library (Harvard Graduate School of Education Electronic Journals
http://www.gse.harvard.edu/~library/*EJ/ejournals.html

WWW 4 Teachers
http://www.4teachers.org/

Education Index
http://www.educationindex.com/educator/

Educational Psychology Resources Online
http://www.library.ualberta.ca/subject/edpsych/websites/index.cfm


Society for Research in Child Development-Social Policy Report
http://www.srcd.org/spr.html


Kathy Schrock's Guide For Educators
http://www.school.discovery.com/schrockguide/eval.html


Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005