Computer Science - A LIBRARY GUIDE

Table of Contents

\

_________________________________________________________________________________________

                                 SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books
: try these examples of ‘exact’ subject headings by entering them as a subject in the search box of the Morningside online library catalog: Computers, Computer Science Computer Software, Electronic Data Processing, Internet, Internet in Education, Educational Technology, Operating Systems Computers, Programming Languages. You may also search by keyword and then identify and ‘follow’ linked subject headings included in the catalog record.

Or browse the following Dewey classification numbers located on the third floor of the library stacks: 004 Computer Science, 005 Computer Software 005.1 Programming Languages, 005.4 Operating Systems Computers, 001 Electronic Data Processing, 025 Information Science or 510.28 Mathematics Data Processing.
_________________________________________________________________________________________

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

The following Reference Titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process:

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Computers / Gary G. Bitter, editor in chief.
R 004.03 En19 1992

IBM Dictionary of Computing / compiled and edited by George McDaniel.
R 004.03 Ib4 1994

Graphics, Design, and Printing Terms: An International Dictionary / Ken Garland. Garland, Ken.
R 006.603 G183g 1989

Top of Page

_________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES

To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Academic Search Premier by Ebsco includes over 2,500 full text peer reviewed journal from a variety of academic disciplines.

Business Source Premier by Ebsco covers a range of business topics from Accouting and Tax to Transportation. Included are 300 publications under a heading Computer Science.

Lexis Nexis includes full text law journal articles, court rulings, business and financial news and newspapers.

Top of Page

_________________________________________________________________________________________

FROM THE WORLD WIDE WEB

Webliographies (AKA Quality Controlled Gateways)

The Internet Public Library - Computers & Internet
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/com00.00.00/

BUBL Link Subject Menus 'C'
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/c/

INFOMINE - Physical Sciences, Engineering, Computing and Math
http://infomine.ucr.edu/cgi-bin/search?physci

MEL: Computer Science
http://mel.org/viewtopic.jsp?id=11
                       

Scholarly Societies and University Sites

 Scholarly Societies Project - Computer Science
http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/society/compsci_soc.html

Virtual Computer Library
http://www.utexas.edu/computer/vcl/

Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005