Classical Origins - A Library Guide

Table of Contents

 

_______________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books identify a subject term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject. For example, consider using the following subject headings: ancient literature history and criticism, Greek literature history and criticism, Latin literature history and criticism. For specific authors use author name Criticism and interpretation (e.g. dante criticism and interpretation). You may also search by keyword and then identify and ‘follow’ linked subject headings included in the catalog record.

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located in the stacks of the Library: 170’s Ethics, 180’s – 190’s Philosophy, 290’s Mythology, 809’s Literature, 870’s Latin Literature 880’s Greek Literature, 930’s History, Ancient

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page


                          REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

The following Reference Titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process.


R 290 L329
New Larousse encyclopedia of mythology
Graves, Robert, 1895-

R 292.13082 B413w
Women of classical mythology : a biographical dictionary
Bell, Robert E.

R 880.9001 Ox2 1991
The Oxford companion to classical literature
Harvey, Paul, Sir

R 882.01 B812n
A new companion to Greek tragedy
Brown, Andrew

R 901.91 C144h
The Cambridge ancient history (12 volumes)
Bury, J. B.

R 901.91 C144p
The Cambridge ancient history : volume of plates (5 volumes)
Seltman, Charles Theodore

R 809.005 C569
Classical and medieval literature criticism (> 60 volumes)
Gale Research Company

Top of Page
______________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES


To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Academic Search Premier by EBSCO accesses over 4,600 full-text publications including 3,500 peer reviewed journals.

MLA Bibliography by FirstSearch provides more than 1,000,000 citations pertaining to
literature, language, linguistics and folklore. The FirstSearch interface identifies those articles that may be available in our library in print as full-text.

Ebsco A-Z is a listing of periodicals available either in print in the Morningside Library or through the databases to which Morningside College is subscriber.

______________________________________________________________________________________


From the World Wide Web

Top of Page                    

Original Texts & History

The Perseus Digital Library
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/

The Online Books Page: PA Classical Languages and Literature
http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/webbin/book/subjectstart?PA

The Harvard Classics
http://www.bartleby.com/hc/

The Internet Classics Archive
http://classics.mit.edu/

The Online Medieval & Classical Library
http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/OMACL/

Internet History Sourcebooks Project
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/

Top of Page

Mythology

Bullfinch’s Mythology
http://www.bulfinch.org/bulfinch.html

Encyclopedia Mythica
http://www.pantheon.org/mythica.html

Classical Myth: The Ancient Sources
http://web.uvic.ca/grs/bowman/myth/

Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005