Chemistry - A Library Guide

Table of Contents

 

Reference Books in the library

___________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books, identify a subject term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject (e g. chemical structure). You may also search by keyword and then identify and ‘follow’ linked subject headings included in the catalog record. Here are some additional sample subject headings: chemistry, analytic chemistry, and polymers.


Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the third floor of the Library: 541 Physical Chemistry 542 Chemical Laboratories, 543-544 Analytic Chemistry, 546 Inorganic Chemistry and 547 Organic Chemistry.

___________________________________________________________________________________________


REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

R 540.202 C859
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics

R 540.3 C738
Comprehensive dictionary of physical chemistry
Ulický, Ladislav

R 541.3 At53c
Concepts in physical chemistry
Atkins, P. W. (Peter William)

R 547 C859
CRC handbook of data on organic compounds

R 547.03 D561
Dictionary of organic compounds; the constitution and physical, chemical and other properties of the principal carbon compounds and their derivatives, together with relevant literature references (5 volumes & supplement)
Pollock, J. R. A. R 792.0973 B644

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES


To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Academic Search Premier by EBSCO accesses over 4,600 full-text publications including 3,500 peer reviewed journals.

American Chemical Society (ACS) provides full-text access to approximately 40 peer-reviewed publications.

Top of Page

___________________________________________________________________________________________


FROM THE WORLD WIDE WEB

 

Chemistry.org: The Website of the American Chemical Society
http://www.chemistry.org/portal/a/c/s/1/home.html

From this portal, researchers may access news, publications and chemistry-related resources. Examples include the current issue of Chemical and Engineering News, Chemicals Headlines and an animated Periodic Table.

The Internet Scout Project
http://scout.wisc.edu/

Search in the archives using the term chemistry. Researchers will find links to sites chosen for their high quality.

Infomine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collection
http://infomine.ucr.edu/

“INFOMINE is a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information (2004 Regents of the University of California). Search by using the “PhysSci” subject link.

Information Resources for Chemistry and Biochemistry
http://www.library.ucsb.edu/subj/chemistr.html

Hosted by the University of California, Santa Barbara Library, “Information Resources …” is annotated set of links to a variety of topics and resource types, including general websites, data sources, and to sites of universities. Note that most journal links are to information resources requiring subscriptions.

Science.gov – Chemistry and Chemical
http://www.science.gov/browse/w_129A.htm

Researchers may locate information and research and development results generated through government research.

Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005