Business - A Library Guide

Table of Contents

 

Reference books in the library

Encyclopedias Handbooks & Dictionaries
Other Reference Materials        
Mergent Reference Titles

 

___________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books identify a subject term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject (e g. Industrial Management – United States). You may also search by keyword and then identify and ‘follow’ linked subject headings included in the catalog record.

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the third floor of the Library:
347.7 Business Law 657.4 Accounting 658 General Management 658.1 Corporations Finance 658.3 Human Resources 658.4 Industrial Management 658.5 Production Management & Business Technology 658.7 Purchasing and Distribution Management 658.8 Marketing 659.1 Advertising

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

The following Reference Titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process.

Encyclopedias Handbooks & Dictionaries


R 659.10973 En19
Encyclopedia of major marketing campaigns
Riggs, Thomas, 1963-

R 658.022 H559
Encyclopedia of small business
Hillstrom, Kevin, 1963-

R 650.03 En19
Encyclopedia of busine$$ and finance
Kaliski, Burton S.

R 344.7301 St35
The employer's legal handbook
Steingold, Fred.

R 332.103 En19
Encyclopedia of banking & finance
Woelfel, Charles J.

R 658.30019 H191
Handbook of industrial, work and organizational psychology
Anderson, Neil

R 658.1511 G223o
101 business ratios : a manager's handbook of definitions, equations, and computer algorithms …
Gates, Sheldon, 1927-

R 657 Ac27
Accountants' handbook
Carmichael, D. R. (Douglas R.), 1941-

R 347.3067 R365p
Prentice-Hall dictionary of business, finance, and law
Rice, Michael Downey.

Top of Page

Other Reference

R 658.834 L626 2002
The Lifestyle market analyst
Standard Rate & Data Service.

R 343.730402646 Un3i
Internal revenue bulletin. Cumulative bulletin
United States. Bureau of Internal Revenue.

R 343.7304 In8
Internal Revenue bulletin
Research Institute of America, inc.

Mergent Reference Titles

332.6 M776z
Mergent complete corporate index
Mergent, Inc.

R 332.6 M776i 2001
Mergent industrial manual
Mergent FIS, Inc.

R 332.6 M776o
Mergent OTC industrial manual
Mergent FIS, Inc.

R 332.6327 M776u
Mergent unit investment trusts. Annual cumulative report
Mergent FIS, Inc.

R 332.6 M776d
Mergent dividend record. Annual cumulative issue
Mergent FIS, Inc.

R 332.6 M776a
Mergent annual bond record
Mergent FIS, Inc.

R 332.6 M776oc 2002/06
Mergent corporate news reports
Mergent FIS, Inc.

__________________________________________________________________________________________


Top of Page

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES

To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Business Search Premier by EBSCO accesses over 2,900 full-text publications including 900 peer reviewed journals..

Regional Business News by EBSCO provides access to 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires.

Lexis-Nexis is a news, business, health, legal and reference database. Of particular note are the sources for company financial data from the information providers, The Hoover Group and Nelson Information.
___________________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

From the World Wide Web

 Webliographies (A selection of ‘refereed’ websites)


The Internet Public Library: Business & Economics
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/bus00.00.00/

Librarians Index to the Internet: Business Finance, & Jobs
(http://lii.org/search/file/busfinjobs)

Social Science Information Gateway: Business
http://sosig.esrc.bris.ac.uk/business/

Company Information

Yahoo Finance
http://finance.yahoo.com/

The 2002 Fortune 500 of 2003
http://www.fortune.com/fortune/fortune500

Fast Companies Database
http://fcke.fastcompany.com/

Edgar Database
http://www.sec.gov/edgar/searchedgar/webusers.htm

CNNMoney Multex Investor
http://cnnfn.multexinvestor.com/home.asp

Top of Page

Small Business and Entrepreneurship

Small Business Administration
http://www.sba.gov/

EntreWorld.org (From the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation)
http://www.entreworld.org/                 

Marketing and Advertising

Marketing Resources (From Elliott White Springs Business Library of the University of South Carolina) http://www.sc.edu/library/pubserv/marketing.html

Marketing Virtual Library
http://www.knowthis.com/

Finance & Accounting

OSU Virtual Finance Library (From The Ohio State University Fisher College of Business)
http://fisher.osu.edu/fin/overview.htm

The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
http://www.aicpa.org/index.htm

Accounting Resources (From the University of Wisconsin Business Library)
http://business.library.wisc.edu/Research_Guides/researchguide_accounting.htm

Management

Management Resources (From Elliott White Springs Business Library of the University of South Carolina) http://www.sc.edu/library/pubserv/management.html

Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005