Art - A Library Guide

 

Table of Contents

 

Reference books in the library


__________________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books identify a subject term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject (e g. watercolor painting, French). You may also search by keyword and then identify and ‘follow’ linked subject headings included in the catalog record.

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the second floor of the Library: 700 The Arts (survey of), 710 Civic & landscape art, 720 Architecture, 730 Plastic arts, 740 Drawing & decorative arts, 750 Painting & paintings, 760 Graphic arts, 770 Photography & photographs.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Top of Page

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

The following Reference Titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process:

R 700 R272o
The Oxford guide to classical mythology in the arts, 1300-1990s (2 volumes)
Reid, Jane Davidson

R 700.3 L638
The Lincoln library of the arts (2 volumes)
Seibert, William H.

R 703 D561
The dictionary of art (34 volumes by Grove)
Turner, Jane Shoaf

R 703 En19e
Encyclopedia of world art (17 volumes)

R 703 M451h 1991
The HarperCollins dictionary of art terms and techniques
Mayer, Ralph

R 704.9482 Si35h
A handbook of symbols in Christian art
Sill, Gertrude Grace

R 709 K673r
Research guide to the history of Western art
Kleinbauer, W. Eugene

R 709.22 M342 1991
World artists 1980-1990 : a volume in the Wilson biographical series
Marks, Claude

R 709.22 M342w
World artists, 1950-1980 : an H.W. Wilson biographical dictionary
Marks, Claude

R 709.22 M72
Modern arts criticism (4 volumes)
Gale Research Inc

R 709.4503 En19
Encyclopedia of Italian Renaissance & Mannerist art (2 volumes)
Turner, Jane Shoaf

R 709.73 B777
The Britannica encyclopedia of American art

R 720.922 M228
Macmillan encyclopedia of architects (4 volumes)
Placzek, Adolf K.

R 738.03 Sa92i
An illustrated dictionary of ceramics; defining 3,054 terms relating to wares, materials, processes, styles, patterns, and shapes from antiquity to the present day
Savage, George

R 770 En19 1984
Encyclopedia of photography
International Center of Photography
__________________________________________________________________________________________________


Top of Page

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES


To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Academic Search Premier by EBSCO accesses over 4,600 full-text publications including 3,500 peer reviewed journals.

LexisNexis, known for its news, business and legal coverage may be used for published reviews of art exhibits and showings.

Ebsco A-Z is a listing of periodicals available either in print in the Morningside Library or through the databases to which Morningside College is subscriber.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

From the World Wide Web

Top of Page

 Quality Controlled Gateways

The Internet Public Library - Visual Arts
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum20.80.00/

BUBL LINK / 5:15 – Creative Arts
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/art.html

The Internet Scout Project (Search the Archives using the word ‘art’)
http://scout.cs.wisc.edu/index.php

The Librarians’ Index to the Internet - Arts, Crafts, & Humanities
http://lii.org/search/file/artscraftshum
                           

Museums

Smithsonian American Art Museum
http://americanart.si.edu/index3.cfm

Virtual Library museums pages
http://icom.museum/vlmp/

National Gallery of Art
http://www.nga.gov/

Web Museum Paris
http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/

Louvre Museum
http://www.louvre.fr/louvrea.htm

The State Hermitage Museum
http://www.hermitagemuseum.org/

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
http://www.metmuseum.org/
  

Other Resources

ArtSource
http://www.ilpi.com/artsource/welcome.html

Searchable Databases of Arts Resources (From the Institute for the Management of Creative Enterprises)
http://www.artsnet.org/databases/

Top of Page


The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005