Adolescent Psychology for Educators – A LIBRARY GUIDE

Table of Contents

 


______________________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS

To search for books, identify a subject term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings and enter it in the search box of the online library catalog as a subject. For example, these Subject Headings might be considered: Middle Schools United States, Education Secondary United States, Adolescence United States, Middle school teachers training of, Conduct disorders in adolescence, Conduct disorders in children, Adolescence, Child development United States, Adolescent Psychology, Adolescent Psychopathology. You may also search by keyword and then identify and ‘follow’ linked subject headings included in the catalog record.

Or browse the following Dewey numbers located on the third floor of the Library: 155’s Adolescent Psychology, 305-306’s Social Science, 360’s Social Problems, 373’s Secondary Education, 616's Medical Science.

Top of Page

__________________________________________________________________________________________

REFERENCE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY


The following Reference Titles may be helpful during the beginning of your research process.


R 305.235 En19
Encyclopedia of adolescence
Lerner, Richard M.

R 370.3 En19e 1992
Encyclopedia of Educational Research

R 150 H191
Handbook of psychology
Weiner, Irving B.

R150.3 En19 1994
Encyclopedia of Psychology

Top of Page

_________________________________________________________________________________

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES


To search for articles, consider the following databases, links to which may be found at the library Web Page: http://library.morningside.edu/index.htm

Academic Search Premier by Ebsco includes over 2,500 full text peer reviewed journals from a variety of academic disciplines.

The Professional Development Collection, by Ebsco is a collection of more than 500 full text journals of likely interest to educators.

PsychINFO, indexed in FirstSearch, is a non full-text database of more than 9,900 sources covering psychology and related fields such as education.

ERIC, the Education Resources Information Clearinghouse is a database containing “more than one million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.” It may be accessed through FirstSearch, Ebsco or the Ask ERIC website. Consider the following search strategy:

1. Select ERIC from the FirstSearch family of databases.
2. Select the Subjects icon.
3. Enter the term adolescents
4. Select expand link
5. Browse topics
6. Identify some second subject terms by selecting again the Subjects icon
7. Return to Query screen and enter chosen subject terms in search boxes and select appropriate     indexes from the pull-down menus. Remember: use subject for one word term and subject     phrase for     two words.
8. Look for ED Accession numbers, as these articles may be available either in microfiche in the     library or from the ERIC Document Reproduction Service.

Top of Page

_________________________________________________________________________________

… and from the World Wide Web

The Institute of Education Sciences is an agency of the U.S. Department of Education in charge of education research conducted and sponsored by the federal government.
http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ies/index.html?src=mr

The Educator's Reference Desk - Adolescents
http://www.eduref.org/cgi-bin/print.cgi/Resources/Specific_Populations/Adolescents.html

The Educator’s Reference Desk – Classroom Management
http://www.eduref.org/cgi-bin/print.cgi/Resources/Teaching/Classroom_Management.html

Social Science Information Gateway or SOSING is a quality-controlled gateway to information for students of the social sciences. To locate resources in the area of adolescence, type in adolescence in the search box and click on “go” (Note: The usability of some resulting websites is limited to information relative to the site’s sponsoring organization). http://sosig.esrc.bris.ac.uk/

Educational Psychology Resources Online
http://www.library.ualberta.ca/subject/edpsych/websites/index.cfm


Society for Research in Child Development-Social Policy Report
http://www.srcd.org/spr.html

Top of Page



The Morningside College experience cultivates a passion for life-long learning and a
dedication to ethical leadership and civic responsibility.


MSC Home | About Morningside | Academics | Admissions | Alumni & Friends | Athletics
Calendars
| Directories | News | Morningside Portal | Miller Hall (Blackboard)

© Copyright 2006 Morningside College
Any questions or comments? email Joan Albenesius
Last updated: 2005